What if she doesn’t want to be “pretty in pink”?

It’s funny how you sometimes knit and knit and knit, but you have nothing to show for it. I’ve been redoing the Very Secret Thing I’m making for Linn about a hundered times. So I finally put it down and grabbed the first yarn I could find, which happened to be Bernat Baby Coordinates Sweet Stripes. I think Aaron bought it for a blanket and never got around to start it. Or rather, started over so many times that he got totally tired of it and put it aside.

I never knit blankets. I hate the monotony of it all. But then I saw all these pictures of Linn’s daughter and all she has is pink! Clothes, blankets, you name it. And I just wanted to do something different for her. So I started the Big Bad Baby Blanket in green/blue and now I’m trying to decide if the green is too bright or if it’s an OK color combination. What do you think?

stripedblanket.jpg

I have also spent an enormous amount of time unraveling a thrift store sweater. It’s 100% silk and the yarn is fragile and strong at the same time. I still have to get the kinks out, so it still looks like Ramen noodles, but isn’t the color beautiful? 

silk.jpg

And last but not least I have to show you just how big a Maine Coon can get. And Elliot isn’t even a pure breed. He’s at least half unknown-shorthair-stray, but he still has the body of a Maine Coon!

heyandelliot.jpg

And keep in mind we have two. That is, we have three “normal sized” kitties and two Maine Coons. Everywhere kitties!

~ by Karyn on '10/13/06.

Leave a Reply

