Another baby blanket?

I haven’t been knitting much lately. Life has been so crazy. I do however feel like I need to post. I’ve been working on a baby blanket for some time now. I made a really cute design, with this picture from Grumperina’s blog as a base. I added some stuff, intarsia squares with little images on, and well, yeah. It was turning out really good. But. Yes, of course there is a but. But I was only about 1/10 done (halfway done with the first strip out of five) and I could not make myself keep knitting.

I think the problem is that I hate purling. It doesn’t matter how fast I get (combined knitting does wonders!), I still hate it. With a passion. And then of course, I started thinking about the Pinwheel Blanket. I’ve tried to start it so many times, but never managed to do the “cast on five stitches and put them on four dpns and go” part. This time I remember these oh so smart directions on how to get around it, so I tried again. And it worked! Somehow mindless stockinette is so much better in the round.

My last finished object before this was a bag. This bag to be exact:

bottomless.jpg bottomlessabove.jpg

What? Felted entrelac bag.
Pattern: My own. One day when I haven’t been off my meds for the last three days I will write the pattern up. Or perhaps put the pattern up for sale. I haven’t decided yet.
Yarn: Paton’s Classic Merino, 223 yards, two skeins of burgundy, one skein of peacock.

I submitted this bag to the third Stitch n’ Bitch book, but I must have sent it in a day late, because I did not get an e-mail like other people who submitted stuff saying she was still looking things over.

Anyway, I had the Sophie bag since a long time, but it just wasn’t cutting it anymore. I have too much crap. So I made this. The second picture shows just how much stuff it holds (and the colors are more accurate). The day it was taken the bag contained:

a bottle of vitamin water, a bottle of regular water, two textbooks, a Sudoko book, two knitting projects, six bus schedules, a wallet, a cell phone, a floppy disk, a ruler, three bottles of pills, a bag of Sourpatch Kids, a bus pass, three pens, a stack of post-its, a bottle operer… Do I need to continue?

~ by Karyn on '07/24/06.

2 Responses to “Another baby blanket?”

  1. I would love to have this pattern. Have you written it yet? I’m participating in an entrelac knitting challenge this month at knittinghelp.com. Your bag is the coolest thing I’ve found.

  2. I too would be interested in the pattern for your entrelac felted bag. I can be reached by e-mail, but please put something about “entrelac” or “knitted bag” in the title or it might end up deleted by mistake if I don`t recognize the name. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

