Knitting without tears

I have so much to update on, but no camera, so it will have to wait. So far I have knitted, but not documented:

Kiri (pdf) (for all that’s holy and the rest too, it must be a crime to knit something this beautiful and not take pictures of it the second it dries. Oh yeah. I haven’t blocked it yet. That’s why I’m still alive. The Knitting Gods would’ve surely punished me if it was more than a big lump of wool.

a panta (with my own tricky cable design. It took forever.)

a tam (which is a tricky humongous hat that looks like an oversized old lady beret – Swedish word “basker” – that people with dreads stuff their hair into for some reason. It’s for a friend. I don’t do dreads. I’m way too perfectionistic (new word?) with my hair to go down that route.)

Via Diagonale (only needs some minor finishing).

Irish Coronet (needs ends weaved in and blocking).

Irish Hiking Scarf (pdf) (only needs blocking).

– one pair of Fuzzy Feet (olive green!).

I don’t know. Is that it? Im just starting an entrelac bag that is eating all my free time. because I’ve probably started over 42 times by now.

What I was really gonna write though, was that I scored a copy of Knitting without Tears by Elizabeth Zimmermann from the library. It was an awesome book in many ways. Lots of techniques. Lots of neat stuff. Baked in there were a few, um, well, not so nice things. Not many, but they were there. Like, she stated that people who are lefthanded and knit “backwards”, that is, I assume, mirrored to the way a righthanded person would knit, is just crazy, because if they can operate a keyboard (ok, this was written in 1971, she said typewriter) or a car or I don’t remember the rest, there were a few examples, well, they should be able to knit like “a normal person”.

And that is just the kind of closemindedness that makes me go “Wow. I can’t believe she just said that”. But then again, this lady was oldish when she wrote the book (she mentioned having a “governess” which I think is a nanny, in 1920, so she had to be born around 1910-1915. And part of the story is that in Europe, or at least in Sweden, they did still teach lefthanded kids to write with their right hand (because to write with your left hand was “wrong”) when my mom was in elementary school. Which was in the early 60s.

But yeah. With a grain (not a pinch! i’m not cooking… yet.) of salt this is a really great book. Everybody should haunt it down at their local library.

PS. Holy shit. I just read over the list I wrote on the top and this means I’m finished and ready to send off my Christmas package. Almost. I just need to finish and felt some handles for my moms bag, but dad’s present is done, so is my sister’s and my grandparents. Only thing missing is my aunt’s. Last year I didn’t finish this until September!

~ by Karyn on '04/8/06.

Leave a Reply

