Tivoliness

tivoli01.jpg tivoli02.jpg

What? Ballet type shirt, one of the few things I’ve made for myself this year.
Pattern: Grumperina‘s Tivoli with some lace added on the bottom.
Yarn: Paton’s Grace (100% mercerized cotton, 136 yards), 3 skeins. The color is called Tangelo.

I’ve been wanting to try Tivoli for so long, but never found the right yarn. I didn’t have the funds for fancy yarn and really didn’t want to make it out of acrylic, because, ew, Florida, hot, acrylic, melty. OK, so I’ve never had that happen (yet), but who knows.

Anyway, one day I was looking through the clearance bin at Michael’s, because I once found Chenille at 75% off there, so whenever we’re there, I look. Ten times. At least. But yeah. That’s where I found this yarn for $1 per skein. It would never have crossed my mind to use orange hadn’t it been on sale, but I love it.

I made the next to smallest size and opted out of the picot edging, but added some lace instead just, well, because I could. I think it’s a little short and are thinking about adding another inch or so, but Amanda says that would be crazy. It’s Florida, for God’s sake.

~ by Karyn on '07/27/06.

2 Responses to “Tivoliness”

  1. WOW! I would never have thought to use Grace! It always looks so fine in the ball, I always doubt I’ll get the suggested gauge. I’m going to the Spinrite (Patons/Bernat) clearance sale at their factory outlet this week, so I’m sure I can pick some up real cheap. Maybe not $1/ball though!
    Tracy

  2. I don’t think I got the right gauge; I never do. I usually just do the math instead, it gives me more freedom in picking yarn. :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.